# **ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA**

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

Dated: 21st September 2019

No. ECI/PN/84/2019

### PRESS NOTE

Subject: Schedule for bye-elections to fill casual vacancy in the Parliamentary Constituency & State Legislative Assemblies of various States/UTs- Regarding.

There is one clear vacancy in the 23-Samastipur (SC) Parliamentary Constituency of Bihar & Sixty-Four vacancies in State Legislative Assemblies of various States/ UTs which needs to be filled up are as follows:

| Sl. No. | State | Number & Name of Parliamentary Constituency |
|---------|-------|---|
| 1.      | Bihar | 23- Samastipur (SC)                         |

| Sl.No. | Name of State     | Number and Name of Assembly<br>Constituency |
|--------|-------------------|---|
| 1.     | Arunachal Pradesh | 56-Khonsa (West)(ST)                        |
| 2.     | Assam             | 1-Ratabari (SC)                             |
| 3.     | Assam             | 44-Jania                                    |
| 4.     | Assam             | 74-Rangapara                                |
| 5.     | Assam             | 106-Sonari                                  |
| 6.     | Bihar             | 54-Kishanganj                               |
| 7.     | Bihar             | 76-Simri Bakhtiarpur                        |
| 8.     | Bihar             | 109-Daraunda                                |
| 9.     | Bihar             | 158-Nathnagar                               |
| 10.    | Bihar             | 163-Belhar                                  |
| 11.    | Chhattisgarh      | 87-Chitrakot (ST)                           |
| 12.    | Gujarat           | 8-Tharad                                    |
| 13.    | Gujarat           | 20-Kheralu                                  |

| 14. | Gujarat          | 50-Amraiwadi           |
|-----|------------------|------------------------|
| 15. | Gujarat          | 122-Lunawada           |
| 16. | Himachal Pradesh | 18-Dharamshala         |
| 17. | Himachal Pradesh | 55-Pachhad (SC)        |
| 18. | Karnataka        | 03- Athani             |
| 19. | Karnataka        | 04-Kagwad              |
| 20. | Karnataka        | 09- Gokak              |
| 21. | Karnataka        | 81-Yellapur            |
| 22. | Karnataka        | 86- Hirekerur          |
| 23. | Karnataka        | 87-Ranibennur          |
| 24. | Karnataka        | 90-Vijayanagara        |
| 25. | Karnataka        | 141- Chikkaballapur    |
| 26. | Karnataka        | 151- K.R. Pura         |
| 27. | Karnataka        | 153-Yeshvanthapura     |
| 28. | Karnataka        | 156-Mahalakshmi Layout |
| 29. | Karnataka        | 162-Shivajinagar       |
| 30. | Karnataka        | 178-Hosakote           |
| 31. | Karnataka        | 192-Krishnarajpet      |
| 32. | Karnataka        | 212-Hunsur             |
| 33. | Kerala           | 01-Manjeshwar          |
| 34. | Kerala           | 82-Ernakulam           |
| 35. | Kerala           | 102-Aroor              |
| 36. | Kerala           | 114-Konni              |
| 37. | Kerala           | 133- Vattiyoorkavu     |
| 38. | Madhya Pradesh   | 193 – Jhabua (ST)      |
| 39. | Meghalaya        | 26-Shella (ST)         |
| 40. | Odisha           | 2- Bijepur             |
| 41. | Pudducherry      | 10 – Kamraj Nagar      |
| 42. | Punjab           | 29-Phagwara (SC)       |

| 43. | Punjab        | 39-Mukerian             |
|-----|---------------|-------------------------|
| 44. | Punjab        | 68 – Dakha              |
| 45. | Punjab        | 79 – Jalalabad          |
| 46. | Rajasthan     | 28-Mandawa              |
| 47. | Rajasthan     | 110-Khinwsar            |
| 48. | Sikkim        | 10 – Poklok-Kamrang     |
| 49. | Sikkim        | 24 – Martam-Rumtek (BL) |
| 50. | Sikkim        | 27 – Gangtok (BL)       |
| 51. | Tamil Nadu    | 75- Vikravandi          |
| 52. | Tamil Nadu    | 227-Nanguneri           |
| 53. | Telangana     | 89-Huzurnagar           |
| 54. | Uttar Pradesh | 7-Gangoh                |
| 55. | Uttar Pradesh | 37-Rampur               |
| 56. | Uttar Pradesh | 77-Iglas (SC)           |
| 57. | Uttar Pradesh | 175 –Lucknow Cantt.     |
| 58. | Uttar Pradesh | 212-Govindnagar         |
| 59. | Uttar Pradesh | 237-Manikpur            |
| 60. | Uttar Pradesh | 248-Pratapgarh          |
| 61. | Uttar Pradesh | 269-Zaidpur (SC)        |
| 62. | Uttar Pradesh | 280-Jalalpur            |
| 63. | Uttar Pradesh | 282-Balha (SC)          |
| 64. | Uttar Pradesh | 354-Ghosi               |

After taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, electoral rolls, weather conditions etc., the Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to fill these vacancies as per the programme mentioned as under: -

| Poll Events                                   | Schedule              |
|---|-----------------------|
| Date of Issue of Gazette Notification         | 23.09.2019 (MONDAY)   |
| Last Date of Nominations                      | 30.09.2019 (MONDAY)   |
| Date for Scrutiny of Nominations              | 01.10.2019 (TUESDAY)  |
| Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures      | 03.10.2019 (THURSDAY) |
| Date of Poll                                  | 21.10.2019 (MONDAY)   |
| Date of Counting                              | 24.10.2019 (THURSDAY) |
| Date before which election shall be completed | 27.10.2019 (SUNDAY)   |

### 2. ELECTORAL ROLL

The Electoral Rolls for the aforesaid Parliamentary & Assembly Constituencies w.r.t 01.01.2019 as the qualifying date has been finally published.

# 3. ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES (EVMs) and VVPATs

The Commission has decided to use EVMs and VVPATs in the byeelection in all the polling stations. Adequate numbers of EVMs and VVPATs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines.

## 4. <u>IDENTIFICATION OF VOTERS</u>

In consonance with the past practice, the Commission has decided that the voter's identification shall be mandatory in the aforementioned election at the time of poll' Electoral Photo Identity cards (EPIC) shall be the main document of identification of a voter. However, in order to ensure that no voter is deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the electoral rolls, separate instructions will be issued to allow additional documents for identification of voters at the time of poll in the said election.

#### 5. MODEL CODE OF CONDUCT

The Model code of conduct shall come into force with immediate effect

Assembly constituency going for election is included, subject to partial modification as issued vide Commission's instruction No. 437/6/1NST/2016-CCS, dated 29th June, 2017 (available on the commission's website). The Model code of conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and the state Government concerned. The Model code of conduct shall also be applicable to the Union Government for the district of the State concerned.

All the instructions issued for General Elections to Legislative Assemblies of Haryana & Maharashtra shall also be applicable to the aforementioned Bye-elections.

Sd/-

(SUMIT MUKHERJEE)
PRINCIPAL SECRETARY